Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

A Writing Focus


Every writer out there has an intended audience in mind when they write. Whether it’s you, your mother, aunt, other-half, best friend, son, daughter, or dog, you write for someone.

So what do you do when you lose that focus?

Recently, my OH and I broke up, under very unkind and abrupt (to me) circumstances. Since then, I’ve rather found that writing has lost it’s appeal. Although she never really liked the pairings in my stories, or read that many of them, I find myself at a loss without her as a backing-reader.

Now, although my mother and two of my aunts act as the audience to my first works (thus the reason ‘mother’ and ‘aunt’ were included in that list above), I find it a little daunting for them to see my works straight off. Between the three of them, they’ve only ever seen one book stright up and raw – the soon-to-be-released Blood Moon.

Why, if they’re my intended audience, are they disbarred from seeing the originals?

Well, the truth is, they’ve never been my first choice. When I was starting out writing, it was actually my high school librarian who read the stories first and gave me constructive criticism on it. After a few edits (including by my high school deputy), a POD release and a few dozen rewrites, my mother got hold of the story after intercepting my one copy of The Family Legends 1: Shinarca.

After that, I had no choice but to reprint 10 copies of it and spread it out to my family. I have 2 copies sitting on my bookshelf where I sit. My ex-OH has another. The rest have been spread out to my mum, grandmother, great-grandmother, aunt, another aunt. I’ve lost track of 3 copies, but they’ve all been numbered – if I go through my family’s houses, I know which ones will be missing.

With my mother willing to hand out a copy to anyone (including her boss/workmate – 2 copies outstanding), it’s little wonder why she’s not my first coice to spread an un-edited copy to. My aunts are almost as bad, though my copy of The Vampire Conspiracy has, for some reason, gone missing between my mother’s hands and the hands of one of my aunts.

With the intended audience hidden behind a veil of secrecy, lest something less than my ideal of perfect make it out into the world, it’s hard to have a focus. My OH, despite her complaining of all the heterosexual couples I write, was my focus. Without her, I’ve lost, well, the will to write, which was once interchangeable with my will to live.

So I must find that new focus, and return to that writing stride that let me rattle off a 52 000-word first draft in just under 6 days.

And, with that bombshell, I shall return to my writing.

August 7, 2010 - Posted by | Writing | , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

