Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

August 2010 Devil’s Wife Competition


 I carved your name into my arm

Instead of stressed I lay there, charmed

My happiness is slowly creeping back

Now you’re at home

I’ve got to let you know

You’re one of my kind

Everywhere you go, I’ll come running

Everywhere you go, I won’t bring you down

If I could, then I would,

I’ll go wherever you will go

I always say how I dont need you

But it’s always gonna come right back to this:

I dont believe you when you say

You dont need me anymore

I want all the world to know

That I love you for what you are

You’re just like a pill

‘Stead of making me better

Would you have the guts to say

“I don’t love you lke I loved you yesterday”

Cheer up, sleepy Jean

Oh, what can it mean?

We were the special two

And never will be again

But I turn to you

Like a flower leaning towards the sun

At the end of the world, you are

The last thing I see, you are

Hard to believe, that

It’s not over tonight

I hear you call my name

And it feels like home

I’m standing here until you make me move

I’m hanging by a moment here with you

I want you loving and I want your revenge

You and me could write a bad romance

Say I wanna leave a hundred times a day

Easier said then done when I just cant break away

Do I cry too much? Am I too outspoken?

Don’t I make you laugh? Should I try it harder?

All I need is you in my life forever

All I need is you every day by my side

I can be your hero, baby

I can kiss away your pain

There’s something unpredictable

But in the end, it’s right

You can check out any time you like

But you can never leave

I told you I loved you

But now that’s all down the drain

But when I need you you’re almost here

And I know that’s not enough

Everytime I try to fly

I fall without my wings

And I know I’m right

For the first time in my life

Drinking whiskey and rye, singing,

This’ll be the day that I die

So since I’m not your everything

How about I be nothing

I’m in love with a fiarytale even though it hurts

‘Cause I dont care if I lose my mind, I’m already cursed

And when the stars are shining brightly in the velvet sky

I’ll make a wish, send it to heaven

And I’ll shout it to the blue summer sky

We may never meet again

So much for my happy ending

So much for my happy ending

 Now what songs are the lines from? First to get all of them right without using Google gets a tote bag with my name on it, a limited-edition Devil’s Wife bookmark and a paper-and-ink copy of Devil’s Wife when it’s released in May 2011. No cheating, guys! And I’ll be able to tell, because some of them have the same lines in 2 or more songs, or I’ve altered them slightly to mess with you.

August 19, 2010 - Posted by | Competitions | , , , , , , ,

14 Comments

  1. t’s such a great site. cool, very fascinating!!!

    ——-

    Opony
    Pozycjonowanie

    opony

    Comment by Jagomalsila | October 7, 2010

  2. lol, I just realised there’s a typo in my list – it should be Young Hearts Run Free by Candi Staton

    Comment by Iona | August 20, 2010

  3. Is there some date at which these erroneous entries will be corrected? I’m dying to know what I misinterpreted. A clue for the parody, it’s a song from the ’90s.

    Comment by Iona | August 20, 2010

    • September 1 seems like enough time to me. As for the clue: Yes, that narrows it down completely.

      Comment by Holly Hunt | August 20, 2010

      • Is that sarcasm or you have a response for me? ;P

        Comment by Iona | August 20, 2010

        • What I have is no clue. I shall have to think on it and get back to you.

          Comment by Holly Hunt | August 20, 2010

  4. I regret writing that parody because now I’ve got the song stuck in my head, but no it isn’t Almost Here, it’s older than that. How many did I get wrong? I’m not sure I have the songs in my music library if I didn’t guess them the first time, and I know a couple of them have had parodies written that have similar lines, like Fuck It, but I forget what they’re called or who they’re by.

    Comment by Iona | August 20, 2010

    • 2 song titles wrong, 3 artists wrong. And I’m not counting the covers as wrong, because they have exactly the same words.

      Comment by Holly Hunt | August 20, 2010

  5. – Every You Every Me – Placebo
    – My Happiness – Powderfinger
    – Need You Tonight – Inxs
    – Everywhere You Go – Taxiride
    – Wherever You Will Go – The Calling
    – Please Don’t Leave Me – Pink
    – I Don’t Believe You – Pink
    – Love You Out Loud – Rascal Flatts
    – Just Like A Pill – Pink
    – I Don’t Love You – Chemical Romance
    – Daydream Believer – The Monkees
    – The Special Two – Missy Higgins
    – I Turn To You – Melanie C
    – The Ghost Of You – My Chemical Romance
    – Won’t Go Home Without You – Maroon 5 (lost me after She Will Be Loved)
    – Like A Prayer – Madonna (best is Frozen though…)
    – Hanging By A Moment – Lifehouse
    – Bad Romace – Lady GaGa (haha “lets make a sandwich” – she cracks me up)
    – Yound Hearts Run Free – Candi Staton
    – Am I Not Pretty Enough – Kasey Chambers (cut me rip stab stab, don’t listen to this one hun, honestly it’s just depressing)
    – All I Need Is You – Guy Sebastian
    – Hero – Enrique Iglesias
    – Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) – Green Day
    – Hotel California – the Eagles
    – Fuck It (I Don’t Want You Back) – Eamon
    – Almost Here – Bryan McFadden and Delta Goodrem
    – Everytime – Britney Spears
    – Better Be Home Soon – Crowded House
    – American Pie – Don McLean
    – Irreplaceable – Beyoncé
    – Fairytale – Alexander Rybak
    – Truly Madly Deeply – Savage Garden
    – Throw Your Arms Around Me – Hunters & Collectors
    – My Happy Ending – Avril Lavigne

    [bowing] thank you, thank you, hold your applause please. I don’t need prizes, I do it for the thrill of the chase, but you can give them to me anyway.
    ;P

    I see your compilation and raise you a parody:

    I kiss her goodbye and near choke
    She walks away with a grumble
    Though the heart denies it, it’s clear
    The world goes on when she is not here.

    Comment by Iona | August 19, 2010

    • You got a couple wrong. But I’m not going to tell you which ones. Sorry Iona :)

      And it seems a parody of Almost Here – Delta and Brian

      Comment by Holly Hunt | August 20, 2010

    • #8: Powderfinger’s “Burn Your Name”, not Love You Out Loud – Rascal Flatts. The lyrics aren’t even similar – I looked them up to make sure XD

      The others were problems with the song title, or the artist.

      Comment by Holly Hunt | September 9, 2010

      • Okay, point conceded, lol, you said you changed the lyrics a bit, so I figured that you changed “all the world” to “the whole world” and just did your own thing with the second bit. I have to admit, “burn your name” never occurred to me, and it isn’t in my library.
        What were the other errors?

        You want the answer to the parody?

        Comment by Iona | September 9, 2010

        • Yes I do.

          Not Pretty Enough, as opposed to ‘Am I Not Pretty Enough’

          I didn’t know Candi Stanton did a Young Hearts version until I looked it up

          Brian, not Bryan

          Trivials, so not really counted. But the Powderfinger one was counted. Sorry :)

          Comment by Holly Hunt | September 9, 2010

          • It’s “I try” by Macy Gray :)

            original lyrics:
            I try to say goodbye and I choke
            I try to walk away and I stumble
            Though I try to hide it it’s clear
            My world crumbles when you are not near

            Comment by Iona | September 9, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

