Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

If There’s One Thing I’ve Learned…


Originally posted 5/10/10 on The Writer’s Vineyard

If there’s one thing I’ve noticed in my 7-ish years as a writer (I’m 20 – that’s more than 1/3 of my life!) it’s that I hate cliche’d characters. Not the cliché as in ‘omg, she’s the heroine, she’s got to be pretty’, because I can’t seem to get rid of that – mainly because my MCs aren’t so human.

I’m talking about the species of my characters. It started out with my Elves, I think. I read something online that badmouthed Elves, so I decided mine would be different. What do you think of when you think Elves? Beautiful, forest-dwelling creatures with all kinds of nature magic, good at archery, and who only step out of their forests once every thousand years to screw with the plot of some poor writer’s novel, yes?

Well, my Elves *puffs up chest proudly* are the half-caste offspring of a Salamander (not the animal, the Elemental) and a human. Their sacred, Elemental-drawn weapon is a bow made out of wood glowing with their own individual colour. The arrows are shafts of the same light, which disappear after being fired. They’re all redheads, each with a temper quicker than even their Fire-blooded parents, and the last thing they’re going to do is leave something alone when they think they can do it better.

I’ve taken on vampires (who were really living petrie-dishes full of the HSN [Humanes Somnes-Nex] Virus attempting to wipe out Werewolves, Yeti and Bunyips [local varieties of the HSN]), the Devil, God, werewolves (partnered with Harpies and gods) (and partnered again with angels), about 5000 years of the Earth’s history, Selkies, world-wide empires (Literally worldwide, in the case of Blood Moon and The Family Legends) and dragon/griffin relationships.

The one thing I have yet to take on is humans. Because humans are boring in worlds where all these things happen. So watch out. If I take on splitting the human cliché, it’ll be headline news. Or not.

October 5, 2010 - Posted by | Writing

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

