Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

November is Novelling Month


NaNoWriMo – or National Novel Writing Month – is heading upon us right now. If you haven’t already, sign up for it at http://www.nanowrimo.org and get plotting. you get 30 days to write just 50 000 words (for most people, this is more fiction than they’ll write in their lives!), and create your own story. At the end of it, you get a story, probably bad but with good spots in it, and you get the pride of knowing you’ve just completed your very own novel.

That’s the feeling I always go for at NaNo time. I’m a Wrimo – have been for almost 6 years now. This year, I’m not going as crazy as I have previoiusly – only 100k for me (I’ve previously managed 200k – I wrote 4 vampire novels, churning one 50k-length story out every 6 days).

You can set your own goal, but if you reach at least 50k, you get eternal glory and tonnes of cyber-bots koutowing at your feet, calling you ‘Master’. Plus a few other little unnessecaries, like a print-and-bound paperback copy of your novel – for free! – but mostly just bowing robots and the awe of your friends who realise just how insane you really are, taking on this challenge.

So, what are you waiting for? I’ll see you at the finishing line :)

October 28, 2010 - Posted by | Writing

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

