Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

An Achievement


There comes a time, on completing a story, that you realise you’ve achieved something. Finishing the story itself is so often an achievement (“Ooh, shiny new story!” often interrupts), but I found another 2 achievements this morning.

I’ve been working on a rewrite of an old story of mine, called Creature Comforts. In its original form, it hit 50,000 words, and had very, very little plot to it. The rewrite, however, is maybe 21,000 words long, fills 3 hardcover notebooks (which also house maps, etc in the front of each cover), and took me something like 3 months to write (including a long haitus during November).

For the first time since I was 16, I’ve written a story completely in long hand (The last one was the pre-runner to The Devil’s Wife, called Lucifer’s Life, at just under 7,000 words).

For the first time since I was 12, I’ve written a  story with a non-human (Lucifer counts as a human) as a main character, and actually managed to finish it. (The last one was the pre-runner to The First Werewolf, called Lion Blood, at just under 13,000 words).

And, for the first time, I plan on being the one to write the story up onto computer screen (Normally my mother-slash-editor does it, and makes her edits as she goes). Should be epic.

I’ll post the first scene when it’s up, and you can all tell me what you’re thinking.

January 4, 2011 - Posted by | Writing

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

