Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

Monday Madness: Ute Carbone


First of all, thank you for being here. It’s wonderful to be able to chat with you.

Thanks for having me over, Holly.

Now. Tell us about your books, both past and future. What genre do you write in, what common elements do you find in your works, and where would you suggest a prospective reader start, in terms of your back-log?

I write women’s fiction and romantic comedy. The women’s fiction is more serious and literary, the romantic comedies are, well, comedies. They seem like two very different things, but really there’s a lot of connection.  I like strong central female characters and most everything I write has that element to it.

Blueberry Truth was my debut novel (out now as an e-book), so I don’t have a back list. Yet.  One of my goals is to build one!
Blueberry is literary women’s fiction and it does give readers a good sense of my writing style. I guess it’s best described as heartfelt.

The P-town Queen, due out with Champagne Books next June, is a romantic comedy with lots of quirky characters. It’s more fun and a lot lighter, but the voice is still mine. Both have strong female characters.

Which one is your favourite book, and why? Was it the easiest to write, or the hardest?

Yikes, that’s a tough one. It’s a bit like asking, which of your children is your favourite. I like them all for different reasons. Depends on what mood I’m in when you ask.

Often, though, I’m most excited about the one I’m writing or editing. I’ve got two on my computer right now. I’m first-drafting a romantic comedy. Romantic comedy is a lot of fun to write. In this one, an old theatre plays a prominent role and it’s been great hanging out with the characters there. The second is a book I’m polishing. It’s literary women’s fiction about three women facing life changes.  It’s been the most challenging book I’ve written thus far. I’ve worked on it for over two years with lots of fits and starts, but I’m pretty happy with the way it’s turned out. I also like the novella that I wrote over the summer, a time travel romance which is a departure for me.

What got you into the game of writing? A bet, a challenge…

Nothing quite so dramatic. I love to read and listen to music. As a teen, I played the guitar and I wrote a few songs. None ever made it to the charts, I’m afraid. But lyrics led me to poetry and poetry led to prose and prose led to novel writing.

What do you consider your driving force, when it comes to writing? Wealth, power, name recognisability…

All of the above. Seriously, I love to create stories and I love it when I hear from readers that the stories touched them in some way.

Describe your perfect world – what’s your Utopia? Can you ever see it becoming a reality? Who would you be most likely to share it with?

Hmm, interesting question.  A world without dirty dishes where the car never fails to start and the tub cleans itself?  I’d love it if you could live trouble free. Not possible, I’m afraid.  Wish it could be trouble free, though, for me and for everyone else on the planet.

How would you go about taking over the world?

It involves Oreo cookies, reality TV and extra hold hair gel. That’s all I’m sayin’. If I tell you more, I’ll have to kill you.

One last thing, what advice would you give to aspiring novelists out there?

Read the best authors of whatever it is you hope to write. Read as a writer, try and figure out how they make their magic. Then write, write, write. The old cliché that practice makes perfect is as true for writing as it is for anything else. The more you do it, the stronger your voice becomes. And then be very patient. Success doesn’t happen overnight. For some, it doesn’t happen at all. Don’t do it for fame and fortune. Do it because you love it and because it makes you gloriously happy to spill words all over the page.

And there you have it,  ladies and gents, Ute Carbone.

You can pick up Blueberry Truth at Amazon.com.

The P-town Queen is out June 2012 from Champagne Books.

You can visit Ute’s site at http://www.utecarbone.com/

November 21, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

13 Comments

  1. Interesting interview, Ute. I love Women’s Fiction. Well, I like to laugh too. Oreos solve everything, don’t they?

    Comment by Linda LaRoque | November 22, 2011

    • Thanks Linda. Oreos deserve their own food group and a holiday.

      Comment by ute | November 24, 2011

  2. Write, write, write and surround yourself with writers. They understand the voices in your head and won’t take excuses for not writing. Congratulations on both of your books and good luck on your WIPs.

    Comment by Cheryl | November 22, 2011

    • Thanks, Cheryl

      Comment by ute | November 24, 2011

  3. Thoroughly enjoyed this post! Excellant questions and entertainingly funny, thoughtful answers! Best, January

    Comment by January Bain | November 22, 2011

    • Thanks January!

      Comment by ute | November 22, 2011

  4. Ute, I can help with that taking over the world thing. You’re missing a key ingredient–Margaritas with lots of salt. Believe me, it worked beautifully the last time I took over a world, and no, I can’t tell you which one. But I know it involved Margaritas.

    Comment by Judy Griffith Gill | November 22, 2011

    • Darn, I knew there was something else! Of course, the Margaritas go with the Oreos.

      Comment by ute | November 22, 2011

  5. Great post, Ute. To write, write, write. Add submit, submit, submit. As a successful technical writer, it was hard to submit my stories. Never thought I would have submission anxiety. My first contracted novella with Champagne was written three years ago! Plan to send out more in January-maybe. Rita Bay

    Comment by Rita Bay | November 22, 2011

    • So true, Rita. Submitting is probably the hardest thing of all.

      Comment by ute | November 22, 2011

  6. Thanks again for having me over for a visit, Holly!

    Comment by ute | November 21, 2011

  7. Interesting interview. Loved your comment about taking over the world with oreos, reality T.V. and hair gel!

    Comment by Victoria Roder | November 21, 2011

    • Thanks Vicki. I haven’t quite figured out how to make it work. :)

      Comment by ute | November 22, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

