Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

Monday Madness: T.K. Toppin


TK Toppin

The Eternal Knot

Out January 2012

Unable to resist the lure of finding her niece, Josie picks up the crumbs of clues left behind. With her old friend and saviour, pod-hunter Quin Aguilar at her side, she seeks out Fern Betterncourt who is assumed to be sleeping for over a hundred years.

From an unlikely source, Fern’s location is discovered, and together with her husband, Josie seeks out her last link to her past. Will Fern want to be found? And will finding Fern be enough to bury the ghosts that haunt Josie? Can Josie bring herself to destroy her last remaining family in order to save herself?

Every question answered, every truth revealed. Will Josie finally rest in peace in the new future she lives in?

An Excerpt:

John Lancaster wondered, for the umpteenth time, what to get his wife for her birthday.

He’d known her for two years. In those two years, the only thing she’d ever asked for was the tattoo that adorned both their fingers instead of traditional wedding rings. This did not mean that she didn’t want a present, not in the least. In the two years he’d known her, he’d learned the subtle art of surviving marriage—and a woman’s mind—like his life depended on it.

The first time he’d met her, it had been her birthday. She was a prisoner, accused of being a terrorist. Granted, she’d been his prisoner and he’d been doing the accusing, but that was beside the point.

Now she was his wife and his life had changed forever. To envision a life without her in it was impossible. Josie was indelibly linked to him, it seemed their paths were destined to cross. He smiled as he remembered her when they had first met. Scared yet wilfully arrogant, and the profanity that flew out of her mouth was shockingly refreshing.

Reeling his mind back to the present, he considered her again. While her tastes and preferences were very simple and relatively undemanding, he still wanted to get her something very special. In a few days, she’d be looking for a gift—and pretending very hard not to—and he still had no clue what to get. There would be a very long face at the end of it.

He reviewed the gifts he’d given her to date. There were several pieces of jewellery made with the finest gemstones, but she rarely wore them. Most were for evening affairs and official functions, but at the best of times, her tastes were very sedate. She did, however, re-pierce her ears for the diamonds studs he’d given her soon after the Scrap Yard incident.

She wore no rings either, just the intricate tattoo on her ring finger of the Buddhist’s symbol that signified an endless knot. It had been her idea, preferring the tattoo instead of a wedding ring, and the message it carried behind it. The balance between heaven and earth, of wisdom and compassion, the spiritual and the living, all tangled up, bound together for all eternity.

Indelible, forever…

A little something about T:

I was born, raised, and live in Barbados and I can’t quite picture living anywhere else in this world.

My growing up years were all about loathing going to school, running wild on the beach, listening to far-fetched stories my brother created out of his imagination, watching TV, reading, and day-dreaming. You could say I was born to be a creative person, since I never quite ended up doing what I’d studied to be, which was management-level courses for the hospitality industry. I ended up being a graphic artist.

For twenty odd years, my life was all about creating ads, designing logos, and doing the odd calligraphy work. To think I used to love it that I lived and breathed it. I had such determined energy and hunger for the field I’d chosen to dedicate the rest of my life to. Can’t say the same thing now, since I groan to work each morning, bitching and griping about this that and the other. It’s a good thing I no longer have to drive to work. Can you imagine! Working for yourself has some perks, after all. But, to be honest, I’d rather be reclining and reproducing onto paper the unforgettable worlds I create in my head.

Maybe I’d always meant to write, after all, I used to write and scribble random thoughts and half-hearted stories throughout my childhood and adult life. (We won’t mention my fascination with pens, paper, and paints, etc). When I finally decided to just shut up and write, and write something good, I was truly amazed at how quickly the words just fell out of me. What I thought was impossible, became possible. And I haven’t been able to stop writing since then.

I’ve completed my first book, The Lancaster Rule, the first in a trilogy. Its sequel The Master Key came out in July 2011, and the final book, The Eternal Knot is due out in January 2012. I’ve also just completed another SF book, which is going through a beta read. I’ve got two other books in progress as well.

For more information on me, visit my blog/website: http://www.thelancasterrule.blogspot.com

Or become a fan of my Facebook pages: The Lancaster Rule http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/The-Lancaster-Rule/341194164892

Or Written by T.K. Toppin: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Written-by-TK-Toppin/122201824480206

Follow me on Twitter: TKToppin (http://twitter.com/#!/TKToppin)

December 5, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments

  1. Just had to come back and say, thank you again Holly, and to everyone for stopping by and leaving these wonderful comments. Muchly appreciated !!!!!

    Comment by TK Toppin | December 6, 2011

    • No problem, T, I like having you here – love the Lancaster books, and hanging out for #3!

      Comment by Holly Hunt | December 7, 2011

  2. Sorry I’m late to the party T. I love your books and I hope you do continue to write many more in the future.

    Comment by kayemanro | December 6, 2011

  3. Hi T.K. Good read, I will look forward to more! Nice to ‘see’ you out here.

    Comment by CC Kaufman | December 6, 2011

  4. DANG T, YOU REALLY GOT MY ATTENTION!

    Comment by LINDA B | December 6, 2011

  5. Great excerpt, TK! I love that you combined your love of calligraphy in your writing–it adds that extra bit of authenticity.

    Comment by Heidi Ruby Miller | December 6, 2011

  6. The Eternal Knot is an incredible finale to the Lancaster Rule Trilogy. I loved it, loved reading it, and loved editing it. A better book will be hard to find. Grab it the minute it’s out, and if you haven’t read the fist two in the series, grab them too.

    Comment by Judy Griffith Gill | December 5, 2011

  7. Love the cover, T. K. And the excerpt was very engaging. Best of luck with your new release!!! I’ll be keeping an out for it.

    Comment by Ciara Gold | December 5, 2011

  8. Thanks so much for the opportunity to show off my upcoming release! Much appreciated!!

    Comment by T.K. Toppin | December 5, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

