Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

Competition Time!


Ever wondered what kind of creatures live out there in the universe? Ever pondered the mysteries of the cosmos? Ever think about what you’d say to an alien if you met one face-to face?

I’m currently writing my first sci-fi novel, and I’ve been thinking about this waay too much. So, in celebration of thinking outside my normal genre (paranormal/urban fantasy), I’m giving one lucky reader the chance to win a swag-bag of goodies, including signed paperbacks of my books.

To enter, simply tell me your answer to one of the above questions. Every comment is an entry into the draw!

 

July 10, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments

  1. We meet them and they are us…

    Comment by januarybain | July 16, 2012

  2. I think if I met an alien face to face, after having gotten over the shock, I’d say they looked lost. Come meet my Mother. The woman who can solve all your problems with a cup of tea. Chat, stay awhile. Don’t eat me.

    Comment by Mary Preston | July 11, 2012

  3. Hi Holly! Love these questions. One of my favorite aliens in my soon-to-be-published novel is a fella whose natural form resembles sandstone: ‘You’d have to watch a long time to see him move, but move he did, slowly, steadily, purposefully, always purposefully, which contrasted with his behavior in human form. It was the liberation he felt being in a body that could move so much faster; the way its soft but strong muscles responded to his thoughts so immediately, so gracefully, he sought out all kinds of physical experiences. Even pain was a joy in some ways, he learned quickly, having moved into the body of a football player who’d been knocked out on the field in a “friendly” game, only it hadn’t been so friendly.’

    Comment by Liz Fountain | July 11, 2012

  4. If I ever met an alien face to face I’d have to first wonder if human rump roast is one of his favorite meals. Was I going to be studied, prodded, poked, dissected? Once we got beyond all that if still alive, I’d ask what is your planet like, how does if differ from ours.

    Comment by Cathy Coburn | July 11, 2012

  5. Enjoyed reading the comments. I would probably ask an alien to describe what kinds of books does he read where he comes from Also, I would like to know who their fashion designer is

    Comment by joy Isley | July 11, 2012

  6. Funny. I was listening to a episode of Through the Wormhole last evening and Michio Kaku had a segment talking about the arrival of aliens to Earth. His comment was that Hollywood has trained us to think it will be a valiant battle against good and evil, (I’m thinking Independence Day, etc.) while he believes it will be more like Bambi Meets Godzilla. They then started talking about brain capacity and the need to be a predator to have the mental ability to…… That’s about where I fell asleep, but it was a thought provoking idea.

    When we find alien life will we be Godzilla? (Sorry. Never answer a question with a question) What if we were once the Bambi and managed to survive to go out into the universe and now we’re the Godzilla.

    I love thinking about this kind of stuff. Sorry for such a long comment. I’m new here.
    ~KbH

    Comment by Kevin B. Henry | July 11, 2012

  7. HI Holly, that’s about all I do!!! I write the blog Science Fiction Musings because these are the questions I wrestle with daily. And I read all the hard physics books on these questions that I can. The enormous potential for the human brain always amazes me and inspires me to write about plausible time travel books, books about possible end-of-the-world scenarios and more…

    Comment by januarybain | July 10, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

