Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

The Unintentional Time Traveller by Everett Maroon – Review


Blurb:

Fifteen-year-old Jack Bishop has mad skills with cars and engines, but knows he’ll never get a driver’s license because of his epilepsy. Agreeing to participate in an experimental clinical trial to find new treatments for his disease, he finds himself in a completely different body—that of a girl his age, Jacqueline, who defies the expectations of her era. Since his seizures usually give him spazzed out visions, Jack presumes this is a hallucination. Feeling fearless, he steals a horse, expecting that at any moment he’ll wake back up in the clinical trial lab. When that doesn’t happen, Jacqueline falls unexpectedly in love, even as the town in the past becomes swallowed in a fight for its survival. Jack/Jacqueline is caught between two lives and epochs, and must find a way to save everyone around him as well as himself. And all the while, he is losing time, even if he is getting out of algebra class.

My Review:

This is a book in which time travel is done right. As much as I love Jack, I love Jac even more. a story of a boy with epilepsy dissolves into a story of someone displaced in time and space, trying to get back to his own world. But once the world around him starts to fall apart, the ties Jack has to reality begin to fall apart, honestly, by the time I finished this book, I couldn’t tell which head was the one he really started in, even though it’s explicitly stated it’s Jack – but then, he could just be remembering things, or imagining them.

I love books that make you think when you c lose the back cover. The Unintentional Time Traveler brings up all kinds of questions, from ‘Who are we really?’ to questions of one’s self and identity, the matter of a soul’s gender and place, the effects of time… A boy transplanted into a girl’s body, building a life in both times, places and bodies can only work in a well-written book – and this is one of those books.

I could bring up all kinds of arguments for transgenderism and non-conformist sexualities represented and alluded to, intentionally or not, but that would make this an English essay, and I hate having good books torn apart.

Summaey: I just plain loved this book.

5.5/5

 

 

Buy Links:

Amazon

 

Interview:

 

  1. Why didn’t you become a policeman instead of a writer?

I wanted to be a doctor for most of my childhood, until I got nervous about trying to learn organic chemistry. And then writing seemed like a more achievable target! Policeman never really entered the picture for me, though I did toy around with being a priest for about two weeks.

  1. If you could only tell one story in your life, what would it be?

This is the hardest question to ask a writer. And I’ll try to be tricky and say that I would tell the story of everyone. Ha. I do feel drawn to long stories about family generations and old friends who spend a lifetime not really knowing each other. I get fascinated by people making bad decisions when they’re trying to do their best but failing. I replay stories in my head in which people communicate poorly with each other and then an unexpected consequence comes about because of it.

  1. Apples or pears?

Apples. On the tart side. Gotta be crispy. There’s nothing quite as awful as a mealy apple.

  1. Which of your own characters would you like to meet and why?

I’d love to meet Darling. She knows so much and she’s so kind about her knowledge.

  1. How would you like the world to end?

Um, by beginning another world? I don’t want it to end!

  1. Which genre do you wish you could write, and why?

I wish I could write mystery. I think as a genre it’s even more complicated than time travel stories, and mystery readers are so well read in the genre that they’ve seen almost everything happen in terms of plots, twists, characters, and back story. I’ve had an idea or two kicking around but I would have to put everything else aside to really focus in and try to write it. So I’ll leave that task to the professional mystery writers out there!

  1. You’re stuck on an island with only three things: A knife, a match and a stick. What would you do to survive?

Did you come up with this question because my last name is Maroon? Uh, I guess I would light the stick on fire for amusement and hope that someone would trade a ride off the island for the knife, and try to hold out for a boat or plane to come along while I still could live off of my copious body fat. Do I pass?

  1. Which of the following would you rather have stalking you through the night: A vampire, a werewolf, or Stephen King?

Hands down, a vampire. The werewolf would just rip me to pieces which isn’t any fun, and they never have any good stories to tell. Stephen King is a lovely fellow, of course, with lots of stories, many of which I’ve read, but maybe I could get a really interesting tale from a vampire. Or wind up becoming immortal. The odds are better with the vampire.

  1. Who is the best villain you’ve ever read, and why?

Maybe Dr. Moriarty, the nemesis for Sherlock Holmes in Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s stories. He is really the grandfather of genre villains, in my opinion, laying down the blueprint for all of the plot devices and tropes related to antagonists that we see today, including trying to kill the protagonist/hero, being a criminal mastermind who leads a crime syndicate, having some fatal character flaw that pushed him to a life of crime, those kinds of things. Everyone from Vito Corleone in The Godfather by Mario Puzo to Lex Luther from the Superman comic to Palpatine in the Star Wars saga owe some of their legacy in Moriarty. But maybe my favorite footnote about Moriarty comes from Star Trek: The Next Generation when the sentient hologram of Dr. Moriarty demands to come to life, and he winds up being beamed into a tiny black box, thinking he’s exploring the galaxy with his life partner. It’s a strangely gentle defeat of a malevolent person, and I love it for that reason.

 

June 23, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

4 Comments

  1. Great review! Thanks for hosting today. :-)

    Comment by Emily Clanton (@EClantonBooks) | June 25, 2014

  2. Methinks I must read this one, Holly!

    Comment by Nikki Andrews | June 24, 2014

    • It is definitely one of those books I encourage.

      Comment by Holly Hunt | June 24, 2014

  3. Reblogged this on theowlladyblog.

    Comment by theowllady | June 23, 2014


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

