Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

Mind Games/Cassie Scot by Christine Amsden – Review


MindGames_med

Beware your heart and soul…

Evan broke Cassie’s heart two months ago, and she still doesn’t know why. She throws herself into family, friends and her new job at the sheriff’s department, but nothing helps. The only thing that finally allows her heal and move on is the love of a new man, mind mage Matthew Blair. Cassie finds him…irresistible.

Matthew may also be the only one who can help keep the non-magical residents of Eagle Rock from going crazy over the murder of a beloved pastor’s wife. It looks like a sorcerer is to blame, but while Cassie tries to figure out who, others take matters into their own hands. With tensions running so hot, a single spark might set Eagle Rock ablaze.

My review(s):

Mind Games (Book #3)

(Apologies in advance – I stayed up until 130am on a work night to finish this book.)

There is just something about this book that leads you into the next page, and the next. Don’t get me wrong, there are definitely parts of the book that could have been a bit snappier, but overall, the revelations and the plot that just kept snapping kept me awake at night until I finished the story. The revelation about the true connection between Cassie and Evan, the expansion of Cassie’s siblings as more than stock characters (LOVED Elena, btw), brought its own conflicts and actions that spurred on the story.

I didn’t like the introduction of Alexander DuPris, though I understand his motivations. I just don’t feel that he added anything to the story that other characters couldn’t already provide. Also, I’m getting a bit tired of it being ‘one romance per book’ – Evan and Cassie need to get together, properly, and all these men need to go away.

The series so far:

Final verdict: I’m loving it. I read all three over again in less than a week, and it kept me up at night, needing to know what was going to happen. The characters are evolving beautifully, the plots are interconnected in ways I wouldn’t have imagined going in, and it has really stuck a chord with me, especially Cassie’s estrangement and return to the family. Having recently entered into the ‘estrangement’ part with my own mother, I can feel exactly what Cassie was – and still is – going through.

Bring on #4!

A little aside: It is starting to feel like every female sorcerer around Cassie, with the maybe-exception of Laura Blackwood, appears to be either the victim or attempted-victim of the drain/slavery trade going on. Is that just me, with my feminism gene acting up, or what?

4.5/5

 

Buy link:

Amazon

Join the Amazon gift card Giveaway!

April 22, 2014 - Posted by | Book Reviews, Uncategorized | , , ,

1 Comment

  1. Thanks so much for hosting! Love the review and love that you’re ready for the fourth (and last) book in this series!

    Comment by Christine Amsden | April 22, 2014


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.