Rhythempoets

Home of authors Holly Hunt & Jophrael L. Avario

Secrets & Lies – Review & Interview


1. Why didn’t you become a policeman instead of a writer?

LOL, that’s a new one! I never even considered becoming a policeman. I know I’ve written about policemen and women, but I, personally, am not fond of guns. Or exercise. (I really am trying on that last one, though!)

2. If you could only tell one story in your life, what would it be?

I wonder if I’ve found that story yet. At the moment, if I could only tell one of the stories I have told, it would be Cassie’s – her series is my favorite. But I keep hoping that there’s still something else out there for me. Maybe even something profound. Or at least very, very entertaining.

3. Apples or pears?

Apples. I don’t like pears at all. Fuji apples are the best apple for eating; I’m still not sure what makes the best baking apple.

4. Which of your own characters would you like to meet and why?

Evan Blackwood, because I created him to be my ideal romantic interest and well, that would be a lot of fun. My husband might not like it, though. :) (Actually, Evan reminds me of my husband in several critical ways, including the way he cares about Cassie.)

5. How would you like the world to end?

In a perfect world, it would end while I watched from a suitably safe distance. On a ship headed for another planet, maybe? In which case, it might as well go out with a bang!

6. Which genre do you wish you could write, and why?

I’ve written stories that combined mystery, fantasy, romance, suspense and science fiction. Just about the only thing I haven’t tackled is literary, and lately I’ve thought that maybe it would be neat if I could write something that really made people think. I’m not sure I have the voice for it, though. I’m a very straightforward person and an equally straightforward writer.

7. You’re stuck on an island with only three things: A knife, a match and a stick. What would you do to survive?

After cutting myself with the knife (probably by accident because I’ve never been able to do this intentionally… and I’ve tried… eight seasons of watching Charmed prompted me to try) I would cast a spell to get me some help. Preferably a really good looking man who knows how to survive with a knife, a stick, and a match!

8. Which of the following would you rather have stalking you through the night: A vampire, a werewolf, or Stephen King?

All three. Then they can attack one another while I get away!

9. Who is the best villain you’ve ever read, and why?
I find most villains to be unmemorable. We get very little of their perspective, and they tend to serve a purpose rather than truly pop off the page. I actually did a search for “best villains in literature” to come up with some ideas. Voldemort comes up a lot, but even though I loved the series, I’m not feeling it. I guess that’s because he’s a VILLAIN, and I like villains who have redeeming qualities, or who even seek redemption, a bit like Darth Vader. Villains whose purpose is to be evil, even if they have a back story to go along with it, don’t tend to stick in my mind as much. After reading through several lists that seemed to be more about popular literature than truly memorable bad guys, I came up with my own idea: Thomas Raith from the Dresden Files. He’s a vampire of the white court, an incubus (the male version of a succubus), and as much as I don’t want to meet him in a dark alley, I sort of find myself sympathizing with him. He’s got a human soul, and a demon, and he struggles with the two over the course of many books (starting in book three).

Thanks so much for asking these entertaining questions!

 

 

My Review:

Secrets & Lies provides everything you need in a story – anger, heartache, sweet romance and one hell of a kicker ending! I can’t wait to get to the next book (if or when it comes out)! Between Cassie and Evan, there was the hope of things straightening out.

Definately putting this on my to-finish-the-series list!

5/5

December 7, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment

  1. Christine, loved your answer for #8 lol

    Comment by Aileen Aroma | December 18, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.